About

Gates Insurance Agency was founded in 1964 by William M. Gates III. William Gates was a former member of the South Kingstown Town Council, past president of the South Kingstown Lions Club, past deputy chief of the Union Fire District and was involved in numerous other local organizations throughout his career.

In 1998 David R. Gates became president. Once situated on Columbia Street in Peace Dale, Gates Insurance moved to its current location at 238 Robinson Street in Wakefield, the Old Wakefield Post Office, in 2008.

Aaron Gates, University of Rhode Island graduate, joined the agency in 2016.

We are an independent insurance agency located in Southern Rhode Island. Just a few miles away is the University of Rhode Island, one of the state's largest employers.

Gates Agency represents many A rated insurance carriers and our service is second to none. We are members of the Independent Insurance Agents of Rhode Island (IIARI) and Trusted Choice, an organization perpetuating the values of independent agents.

Our Staff

Mary MacLean, Receptionist
mary@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 110

April Duff, Personal Lines Client Manager
april@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 105

Susan Wright, Personal Lines Client Manager
susan@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 111

Chelsea Champlin, Personal Lines Sales
chelsea@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 109

Arielle Poulin, Personal Lines Assistant
arielle@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 103

Donna Fossa, Commercial Lines Client Manager
donna@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 107

Monica Eddy, Commercial Lines Client Manager
monica@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 106

Aaron Gates, Executive Producer
aaron@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 108

Tasha Lingenfelter, Office Manager
tasha@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 102

David Gates, President
david@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 101